Sects of Buddhism

Sects of Buddhism & Bodhisattvas

Sects of Buddhism.  (1) Hinayana , (2) Mahayana  (3) Vajrayana .

(1) Hinayana (i.e. the Lesser Vehicle):

(i) Its followers believed in the original teaching of Buddha.

(ii) They sought individual salvation through self-discipline and meditation,

(iii) They did not believe in idol-worship.

(iv) They favoured Pali language,

(v) It is known as ‘Southern Buddhist Religion’, because it prevailed in the South of India, e.g. Sri Lanka, Burma (Myanmar), Syam (Thailand), Java etc.