Five-Year plans of India

Submitted by Publisher on Wed, 11/02/2011 - 01:07

India's Five Year Plans: For the smooth functioning of any economy, planning plays an important role.The Economy of India is based in part on planning through its five-year plans, which are developed, executed and monitored by the Planning Commission.India's five year plans are also supervised by the Planning commission.

India's Five Year Plans:

  1. First Five-Year Plan (1951-1956)
  2. Second Five-Year Plan (1956–1961)
  3. Third Five-Year Plan (1961–1966)
  4. Fourth Five-Year Plan (1969–1974)
  5. Fifth Five-Year Plan (1974–1979)
  6. Sixth Five-Year Plan (1980–1985)
  7. Seventh Five-Year Plan (1985–1990)
  8. Eighth Five-Year Plan (1992–1997)
  9. Ninth Five-Year Plan (1997–2002)
  10. Tenth Five-Year Plan (2002–2007)
  11. Eleventh Five-Year Plan (2007–2012)

1st five year plan:
Year: 1951 to 1956

The 1st five year plan dealt with seven categories.
They included:
Agriculture as well as community development
Energy as well as Irrigation
Communications and transport
Land rehabilitation
Social services
Industrial sector

2nd Five year plan:
Year: 1956 to 1961

The 2nd five year plan dealt with

hydroelectric projects,
steel mills,
production of coal,
addition of railway tracks and
other aspects.
The 2nd five year plan abided by Mahalanobis model.



3rd five year plan:
Year: 1961 to 1966


4th five year plan:
Year:1969 to 1974

Commencement of panchayat elections.
POW or prisoners of war were set free after Simla Agreement in the year 1972.


5th five year plan:
Year:1974 to 1979.


6th five year plan:
Year: 1980 to 1985.

This plan was known as the Janata government plan.
The Janata government plan was opposite to that of Nehruvian model.


7th five year plan:
Year:1985 to 1989.

Indian National Congress regained power.


8th five year plan:
Year: 1992 to 1997.

It may be noticed that the period between 1989 to 1991 seems to lie idle. But according to the trend, these years should have been included. But this period was characterized by political unrest. This period witnessed many changes.


9th five year plan:
Year : 1997 to 2002.


10th five year plan:
Year: 2002 to 2007.


11th five year plan:
Year: 2007 to 2012.




Related Items

10th Five Year Plan

10th Five Year Plan

The 10th Five Year Plan (2002-2007) targets at a GDP growth rate of 8% per annum.Taking note of the inabilities of the earlier Five Years Plans, especially that of the 9th Five Year Plan, the Tenth Five Year Plan decides to take up a resolution for immediate implementation of all the policies formulated in the past. This amounts to making appeals to the higher government authorities, for successful completion of their campaigns associated with the rapid implementation of all past policies.

9th Five Year Plan

9th Five Year Plan

Like all other Five Year Plans made so far, the 9th Five Year Plan (1997-2002) is formulated, executed and supervised by the Planning Commission.

In the Ninth Five Year Plan period from 1997 to 2002, the recorded rate of growth was merely 5.35%. However, this economic growth rate is a percentage point lesser than the GDP growth of 6.5% targeted during this period.


Evolution of the 9th Five Year Plans: Some facts

8th Five Year Plan

8th Five Year Plan

8th Five Year Plan commenced on 1992 and carried on till 1997. The basic objective of this period was the modernization of industrial sector. This plan focused on technical development. Through this plan the reduction of deficit and foreign debt was aimed at. The rectification of certain flawed plans and policies were also done under this five year plan. During this period only India received a coveted opportunity to become a member of the World Trade Organization on January 1st 1995.
Agricultural Activities During this Period

7th Five Year Plan Of India

7th Five Year Plan Of India

7th Five Year Plan which covered a time span of another five years started on 1985 and went on till 1989. This Five Year Plan was the come back vehicle of the Indian National Congress Party into power. The primary aim of the five year plan was to upgrade the industrial sector and enable India to establish itself as one of the developed countries of the world. This Plan was released under the National Development Council of India.


Objective of the Five Year Plan

6th Five Year Plan Of India

6th Five Year Plan Of India