Arjuna Awards in Wrestling

Submitted by wbcs.manager on Sat, 10/29/2011 - 12:43

Image removed.The wrestlers made their debut in the winners list of the esteemed Arjuna Award in the very first year of the award`s journey. The names of some of the winners are G. Andalkar, Bishamber Singh, Bhim Singh, Mukhtiar Singh, Master Chandgi Ram, Sudesh Kumar, Prem Nath, Jagroop Singh, Satpal, Rajinder Singh, Jagminder Singh, Kartar Singh, Mahabir Singh, Subhash, Rajesh Kumar, Satywan, Ombir Singh, Pappu Yadav, Ashok Kumar, Jagdish Singh, Sanjay Kumar, Kaka Pawar, Rohtas Singh Dahiya, Ashok Kumar, Randhir Singh, Kripa Shakar Patel, K.D. Jadhav, Naresh Kumar, Palwinder Singh Cheema, Sujeet Mann, Shokhinder Tomar, Anuj Kumar, Sushil Kumar, Geetika Jakhar, Alka Tomar and Yogeshwar Dutt.


Related Items

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest award in cinema given annually by the Government of India for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema.

BHARAT RATNA -- The highest civilian award of the country.

‘Bharat Ratna’, the highest civilian award of the country, was instituted in the year 1954. Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for these awards. It is awarded for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, and in recognition of public service of the highest order.

Arjuna Awards in Cricket

Cricket is one of the most popular games in the country. There are several winners of Arjuna Award in this sport. Some of the winners are Saleem Durani (1961), Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi (1964), Vijay Manjrekar (1965), Chandu Borde (1966), Ajit Wadekar (1967)

Arjuna Awards in Carrom

This game has only one representative in the Arjuna Awards winners list. The sole Carrom player who won the award is A. Maria Irudayam, in the year of 1996.

Arjuna Awards in Billiards and Snooker

Though the game of Billiards and Snooker has a proud history and has produced some internationally successful players, it has four representatives in the winners list of the Arjuna Award.